Meet Eddy – Our First International Team Member!

Tell us about yourself.

I was born and raised in Costa Rica. I’m married and have a 6-year-old daughter.

I have been working in Digital Marketing for about 10 years. I almost started med school but landed a job at a digital marketing agency in PPC. I learned everything about PPC there and have a huge passion for PPC. I’ve been in and out of the PPC world, but very much involved, leading a small team. It makes me happy when the efforts I put in are reflected in the business’s growth. 

Where are you located?

San Jose, Costa Rica

Tell us about Costa Rica.

I live about 1.5 hrs from the beach, driving. The farthest but best beach is 4 hrs ( Nosara). The weather is great, it never gets below 70°

Which is your favorite ocean? The Pacific. It has the best swells, and it has the best restaurants and locals.

What do you like to do outside of work?

Surf (I am by no means a pro). I learned 8 years ago on a ratty surfboard taught by my friends.  Now I have 3 surfboards, my original larger one, and 2 newer ones. My parents would take us to the beach every other week since we have a beach house. I loved going to the beach before learning to surf. 

Working out. I love lifting weights. I have started doing cardio, which I’m not a huge fan of, but it helps with conditioning for surfing. I recently bought a mountain bike. The beaches have mountains behind them so there are paths opened up for hiking or mountain biking. 

Play music. I started taking guitar lessons at 12 but didn’t like them so I’m mostly self-taught. I’ve since moved into the bass and ultimately play the drums. I have jam sessions with friends.

What is your go-to band/playlist?

Rock/Metal. Red Hot Chili Peppers, and other punky bands, like Blink-182, Rage Against the Machine, and Incubus. I have a crazy mashup playlist called other with a variety of genres (non-metal and jazz). I have a metal playlist for working out or when I need energy/to feel pumped up.

What’s your go-to karaoke song?

Scar Tissue by  Red Hot Chili Peppers

You can have an unlimited supply of one thing for the rest of your life, what is it?

Food. BBQ meat or any BBQ food basically, but combined with gallo pinto (rice, beans, and cheese mixed). Gallo stands for rooster, which it doesn’t make sense but it’s delicious and I couldn’t live without it.

If you could learn one new professional skill, what would it be?

Something around finance or stocks. I’m terrible at it and I know people make money from it, so I’d like to learn more about those topics. Data science is also something I’ve become interested in.

If you could learn one new personal skill, what would it be?

Play jazz/classical music. Specifically piano or strings like the cello, and violin.

What are your tips for remote work?

I started working remotely just before Covid. I hate commuting and I wouldn’t go back. My tips are:

Make sure you have the right equipment, like a stable internet connection, the right amount of screens, and reliable audio/video. Take breaks when you need to. Make sure you’re on top of your work and not distracted. Make sure you understand you need to work during your working hours. 

What’s your go-to WFH outfit?

Comfort is key.  I’m usually in shorts, joggers, or a T-shirt. I usually work barefoot.

I recently got a sit/stand desk and I’ve been alternating between 30 mins standing/sitting. It has a timer that I can set to remind myself to stand up every so often. It helps with overall health, blood flow & circulation.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?

Eat the frog, every day. I’ve applied it to my work and personal life. Make sure to get your most difficult task done every day and stop putting it off.